The Great Clothing Swap – Swango.com

My son is growing!  Suddenly, almost overnight, his size 18 month pants and shirts are all too short!  And not just a little – I didn’t notice until one day I put a shirt on my son and the sleeves were a good inch above his arms.

Now this I was not expecting.  We’d purchased 2T clothing from the end-of-summer clearance racks, so we have plenty of t-shirts and shorts.  But it’s still March, and I’m sure some of you are looking out the window at the same thing I am – a foot-and-a-half of snow, and more swirling down.  So we’ve been keeping our eyes out for 2T pants (he has lots of shirts that still fit.)

So today, when I found an online clothing swapping site called Swango.com I was very excited. I see lots of clothing for the whole family, although at the moment there isn’t a lot of maternity. :P

Just like many online swapping sites, the site works on a system of credits.  Each item you list will initially earn you a free credit, with a maximum of ten free credits.  When you sell an item, you and the buyer split shipping costs, and the buyer pays a $0.99 transaction fee that goes to swango.com.  I really like the fact that Swango uses the transaction fee to cover making the site run smoothly (by using paypal checkout) and also donates part of it to a charity that provides clothing to families in need.

You can use the credits you earn to “buy” clothes!  A brand new Gap onesie I’m eyeing would cost me 2 credits.

Swango, of course, is just one way to swap clothing – Ebay, Craigslist, freecycle, thrift stores, family…there are so many others.  And the benefits to swapping instead of buying new are plentiful:

~ swapping keeps clothing out of landfills – because if you never purchase new clothes, you never have to dispose of them!  Plus, you save the chemicals, raw goods, and other parts of the manufacturing process.

~ it’s cheaper!  It’s often just a couple dollars (compared to tens of dollars for new) or even free

~ swapping in many places means you will get something that is almost as good as new.  Swango.com previews listings and may reject those they feel are not in good condition.  I can’t tell you how many clothes I have inherited off of freecycle that were brand new, and many that were just as good as they would look after my son wore them a couple times!

All that said, I can’t wait until summer and garage sale season.  I haven’t found a really good thrift shop that carries clothing around here yet, but the garage sales are great!  Now, if only this snow would melt!

One Response

  1. You should check out the craigslist.com children’s section. It is the new garage sale. Granted, some prices are not that low but I’m sure they will take offers if it doesn’t sell right away.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

