The Desk of My Dreams – and the Bane of My Wallet

I found the perfect desk at Sam’s Club.  It’s a secretary desk – and it’s an organized person’s dream – lots of drawers, even a built in file cabinet.  Perfect for my needs.  But it’s $400!

But let me give you some background – part of our business equipment is a large corner desk.  Each “wing” measures about 5 feet, so this desk is huge!  It’s also basically a table.  It has a flat top and no drawers.  It is perfect as a shipping area  up in our office.  But as we sell our product and get rid of the business, we aren’t going to need it.  It’s too big.  Too useless!  The office will become a bedroom again, and we needed something small that would hide our bills, my laptop, and our files in plain sight in the living area.  Brian and I discussed it, and we decided that selling the current office furniture and buying something to fit our needs would be a much wiser idea.

And so when we went to Sam’s Club to pick up cat litter and cat food, this desk stood out to us.  But we weren’t planning on buying a new desk until we were done with the old one – we needed to sell it to afford the new one!  At the same time, furniture at Sam’s seems to be seasonal.  Right now there is one in stock at our Sam’s.   We don’t want to charge it.  That’s not a good idea.  So we came up with a plan.

We could use the extra money in our paycheck and some from ebay.  And we’ll do that to make up the difference.  But we’ve got a huge black filing cabinet sitting empty upstairs.  It’s being used to put random items on.  We also have a few store displays to sell.  And I’ve been storing some soap base from my stint with making soap – which was very, very fun, but now I have enough soap to last me the rest of my life, and half of the soap base still left.  We also have some baby clothes I’ve been meaning to sell.  So we’ll sell all these things that have really just been cluttering up our lives (remember the Container Theory?  The office is the exact opposite of what this theory proposes, but selling the stuff will help a lot!)  And with the money, we’ll buy something that will simplify our office into one little corner of the room.  That feels a whole lot better than going into more debt!

3 Responses

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Tim Ramsey

  2. I thought about this post a lot. I am not one really to tell you that spending $400 on a desk is silly or extravagant considering what my family spends on things all the time.
    However, what I will say is that we always find the best deal. If we can find something second hand, we try that first. We look through craigslist, watch freecycle and wait a while before deciding on a big ticket item.
    We recently spent money on a printer, We spent $100 but made sure, it could scan, copy, fax and print color picture perfectly. I needed a printer for school and we wanted something to print pictures of kiddo on, so after doing lots of research we finally found the printer we wanted and then we found it on sale, AND found a coupon. I love my printer, but it was an extravagant purchase.

  3. Sometimes those kinds of purchases are okay. I try not to feel guilty if I spend a lot of money – as long as I did it responsibly!

    You did your homework, checked out the options, and did what was best. Considering your situation, and what you needed, it was the best solution. And I’ve found I’m much more willing to keep something if I’ve contemplated it for a while, searched around, and then made my decision. Otherwise, often I end up realizing I didn’t like it as much as I thought!

    Still waiting on the desk, although I think it’s perfect! I need the cash first!

Leave a Reply

