Just an Update – Where Have I Been?

It’s been a while since I’ve posted, and I apologize for that.  It’s been a tumultous couple of weeks, and I’ll explain quickly and get on with the good stuff!

I mentioned in a previous blog that I’m pregnant.  Let’s just say that I’ve been not feeling up to much until very recently.  I’m still trying to get the house back in order from those couple of weeks – and I’ve realized that women must have selective memory when it comes to being pregnant and in labor.  Otherwise, they would never willingly repeat the experience!  But I’m feeling a lot better now, as I near my second trimester, and I’m focusing my attention on a clean, de-cluttered house and a freer-from-debt household before Little One arrives at the end of September.

I’ve continued to try to declutter my house, using the Container Theory.  Several of my friends online have joined me, and it’s been fun to hear about the things they’ve been cleaning and stuff they’ve gotten rid of! As for me, I’ve managed today to remove and give away about 6 or 7 boxes of children’s clothing and more than that many garbage bags full.  (These were all clothes that were given to me that either were the wrong size or gender for my son!)  They went to a woman with twins who has many friends with children and a mom who is running a church rummage sale next week.

I’ve also gone through my books and removed the ones I won’t read again.  These went on half.com and paperbackswap.com.

And I finally went through the piles of papers on my desk.  Suffice it to say I’m amazed I managed to pay all our bills on time and avoid late fees!

I wish I could say I’ve done more in the last few weeks.  But it’s a start, right?

The only other thing worth updating is mentioning that our refinancing went through today – we signed the paperwork on Friday and Ohio law requires a 4 day waiting period in case we change our minds.  This means we’ll no longer owe our friend nearly $11,000 from our previous mortgage, and we’ll have about $8000 to put towards our new septic system.  The rest we’ll pay in cash.  As usual, I hate feeling like I’m adding debt, but this was a planned expense.

Pretty boring, I know.  But I didn’t want to take almost two weeks off without letting you know why!

Leave a Reply

